How to lock the images in Google Photos

Google just released a new feature in Google Photos that lets you hide sensitive images from prying eyes.

How to lock the images in Google Photos

Google's Locked Folder lets you store photos you don't want anyone to see. It's first available on Pixel devices and will come to more Android devices later this year. You will not see these photos in your Photos grid, memories, or in other apps that have access to your camera roll, because they are protected by your device's screen lock passcode.


Here’s how to set up the Google Photos Lock Folder on a Pixel.

  • Open Google Photos. Tap on Library, Utilities, then Locked Folder.
  • Tap Set up Locked Folder. Next, unlock your device with either your fingerprint or your PIN. If you don’t already have a passcode, you’ll have to go create one first.
  • If your Pixel phone has a Locked Folder, you can save photos right there. In the Camera app, tap on Photo Gallery, then Locked Folder. You will be able to view all your photos there if you keep Locked Folder enabled.
  • Select the photos you want to store in the Locked Folder from your camera roll. The move to locked folder option is available when you tap the More icon on the top right. You can now move by tapping the Move button. Please keep in mind that the cloud will delete any photos you stored there. Using the Locked Folder on your device, you can keep sensitive photos away from prying eyes.
Though Apple has its own way to hide photos using a Hidden Folder on the iPhone, it is unclear if Google will bring the feature to Google Photos for iOS.


In the Locked Folder, you cannot back up photos, but that tradeoff may be worth it.


Learn more: How to lock the images in Google Photos


Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post